Welcome to the website of


    5W0GC & YJ0GC DXpedition 2018



Your small Donation is much appreciated!


                                                            5W -  Samoa

Samoa, know as Western Samoa consists two main islands Savai'i and Upolu, account for 99% of the total land area, and eight small islets. Samoa has total area 2842 square km. Samoa located south of the equator, about halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand in the Polenesian region of the Pacific Ocean. The capital city of Samoa is Apia, located on the main island of Upolu.

Samoa has a population around 194 000. About three - quarters of population live on the main island of Upolu. 92 % of the population are Samoans, 7% Euronesians - people of mixed European and Polynesian ancestry and 0,4% are Europeans. 




                                                   YJ  -  Republic of Vanuatu 

Officially the Republic of Vanuatu is a Pacific nation island located in South Pacific Ocean.   The archipelago, which is of volcano origin is 1750 km east from Australia (VK), 540 km northeast of New Caledonia (FK), east of New Guinea (P29), southeast of Solomon Islands (H44) and west of Fiji Republic (3D2).

The fourteen Vanuatu's islands that have surface areas of more than 100 square km are, from largest to smallest: Espiritu Santo, Malakula, Efate, Erromango, Ambrym, Tanna, Penfecost, Epi, Ambae ( Aoba ), Gaua, Vanua Lava, Maewo, Malo and Aneityum ( Anatom ).

The nation's largest towns are the capital Port Vila, on Efate Island, and Luganville on Espiritu Santo Island.

Vanuatu has a population about 243 000. The inhabitants of Vanuatu are called Ni - Vanuatu. The Ni - Vanuatu are 98,5 % of Melanesian descent, with remainder made up of a mix of Europeans, Asians and other Pacific islanders.


Formerly called the Ellice Islands, Tuvalu is a Polynesian island nation situated in the Pacific Ocean, halfway between Australia and Hawaii; its closest neighbours are Samoa and Fiji. The nation is made up of four reef islands and five true atolls, coral islands completely encircling a lagoon. It is just 26 sq km and is the fourth smallest country in the world, larger only than the Vatican City, Monaco, and Nauru. - See more at: http://www.oceanislandtravel.com/home.asp?id=76#sthash.58Iqq2yr.dpuf







change background color joomla